Music for Advent and Christmas

Cassette tape, 1991

Director: Lucian Nethsingha

Organ: Paul Morgan

Side One

1. O Come, O Come Emmanuel - 15th century French, arr. J.H. Arnold

2. The Angel Gabriel - Basque, arr. Edgar Pettman

3. Adam Lay Ybounden - Boris Ord

4. Hymn to the Virgin - Benjamin Britten
Semi-chorus: Thomas Broom. Eliot Wilkinson, Alistair Ruddick (trebles); James Mobbs (alto); Warren Trevelyan-Jones (tenor); John Turner (bass)

5. Hark! A Herald Voice is Calling - W.H. Monk

6. The Record of John - Orlando Gibbons
Soloist: Michael Dobson

7. A Spotless Rose - Herbert Howells

8. The Truth from Above - trad. arr. Ralph Vaughan Williams
Soloist: Gordon Pike

9. Come, Thou long-expected Jesus - John Stainer

Side Two

1. Ding Dong! Merrily on High - 16th century French, arr. J. H. Arnold

2. Unto Us is Born a Son - Piae Cantiones arr. David Willcocks

3. Away in a Manager - W.J. Kirkpatrick, arr. David Willcocks

4. It Came Upon the Midnight Clear - trad. adap. Arthur Sullivan

5. Shepherd's Pipe Carol - John Rutter

6. Tomorrow shall be my Dancing Day - trad. arr. David Willcocks

7. Jesus Christ the Apple Tree - Elizabeth Posten

8. Wassail Carol - William Mathias

9. Silent Night - Franz Grüber, arr. Philip Ledger

10. O Come, All Ye Faithful - 18th century, attrib. J.F. Wade

Recorded in Exeter Cathedral, 5, 6 and 7 March 1991

Alpha Records, Oxford

Record number: alpha CACA 920 Stereo

Cover photograph: Brian Matthews (Brian was a senior server in the cathedral, and a very popular and larger-than-life figure in the cathedral community. Sadly his serving duties were brought to a premature close by a stroke that restricted him to a wheelchair.

Side 1

Side 2